News banner - yachts in background

Summer Series Race Eight Post Race notes

Akala takes out the Series trophy on count back with Mercedes III

Series congratulations goes to Akala. It was her last race down to the wire performance under the helm of David McNeice that bought the trophy home.

It wasn’t easy. Watching Mercedes III leading her across the finish line and keeping Ettrick at bay was her challenge. It was all decided on the last mark rounding and on the beat to the finish line. Ettrick was catching Akala at this point but a split in tacks that saw Akala come out best put the series result into a tied score. The Top Yacht tie breaker process gave the nod to Akala on the basis of her two series first placing’s compared to the single first series placing by Mercedes III.

See some Race 8 photos below… Thanks to all our Race 8 photo contributors – it’s not easy taking photo’s while racing. 

Akala, Race 8
Akala in Race 8. Pic by Tim Barker.

Marie Louise III consistency trophy goes to Mercedes III

The 2022 Winter Series and the 2022/2023 summer series were used to award this trophy.

This trophy is based comparing the percentage variation of each boat’s allocated handicap to the back calculated handicap after each race.

For the record Dingo was the most consistent boat of the summer series but Mercedes III aggregate score for the 2022 winter series was way to low for Dingo.

MERCEDES III Race 8 under the helm of Peter Bowie. Pic by John Ryks
MERCEDES III Race 8 under the helm of Peter Bowie. Pic by John Ryks

Race 8 Gallery...

Related posts...