

ROYAL MELBOURNE YACHT SQUADRON

TUMLARENVic. State Titles

1st & 2nd April 2023

NOTICE OF RACE



TUMLAREN Vic State Titles 2023

NOTICE OF RACE

The Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron (RMYS), as the Organising Authority invites entries from Tumlaren Yachts, currently on the register of an Australian Sailing (AS) affiliated club, to the Tumlaren Vic State Titles series to be conducted on the waters of Port Phillip on the 1st and 2nd April 2023

1. RULES

The championship will be governed by

- The rules as defined in the World Sailing Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) 2021-2024 and Australian Sailing (AS) prescriptions,
- The 2021-2024 Special Regulations Part 1 keelboats (SR),
- The RMYS Sailing Instructions 2022-2023 and amendments,
- The requirements of the Port of Melbourne Corporation (PoMC) Regulations, and any published amendments.

2. SAFETY REGULATIONS

- 2.1 AS SR Part I for racing boats, Category 7 shall apply.
- 2.2 Entries shall carry the 2022/2023 Australian Sailing safety category compliance sticker.

3. ADVERTISING

Boats may be required to display advertising chosen and supplied by the Organising Authority.

4. ELIGIBILITY & ENTRY

4.1 Entries will be via the <u>RMYS Top Yacht Entry System (TES) portal</u>. Entries will close 30th March 2023. Late entries may be accepted at the sole discretion of the Race Committee.

5. ENTRY FEE

Required entry fee is- \$40.

6. SCHEDULE

- 6.1 The State Championship will be conducted over a series of 3 races. Two races Saturday 1st April. One race Sunday 2nd April
- 6.2 First warning signal on each day is scheduled for 1025 hrs. Subsequent race on day one will be started as soon as practical after the previous race.

7. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

The RMYS Sailing Instructions will apply; they are available here: <u>RMYS Sailing Instructions</u> 2022-2023

8. VENUE (RACING AREA)

Racing will be conducted on the waters of Northern Port Phillip.

9. COURSES

The allocated courses the 2023 State Championship will be described in Sailing Instructions.

10. PENALTY SYSTEM

Rule 41.1 is changed so that the two turn penalty is replaced by the one turn penalty.

11. SCORING

- 11.1 AS RRS Appendix A4 Low Point scoring system will be used.
- 11.2 The sum of each entered boat's series score will be its score from all completed races
- 11.3 One Race is required to be completed to constitute a series.

12. SUPPORT BOATS

Support boats will be marked with the RMYS Burgee.

13 RERTHING

Yachts wishing to stay at the RMYS for the duration of the State Titles series shall contact RMYS Boating Administrator to be assigned a marina pen and a fob key. A copy of a drivers licence and credit card will be taken when the fob key is issued and will be destroyed when the fob key is returned. Should the fob key not be returned; the credit card will be charged \$50. Fob keys can be returned to the RMYS office; or to the drop boxes inside the gates on F and G rows.

14. HAUL OUT RESTRICTIONS

Yachts shall not be hauled out during the regatta except with and according to the terms of prior written permission of the race committee.

15. RADIO COMMUNICATIONS

Except in an emergency, a boat that is racing shall not make voice or data transmissions and shall not receive voice or data communication that is not available to all boats.

16. PRIZES

Prizes for series will be given as follows:-

- 16.1 RMYS T.L.Banks Perpetual Trophy. Best aggregate one design score of the State Titles series.
- 16.2 Knud Reimer Perpetual Trophy. Line honours in the last race of the State Titles series.
- 16.3 Bert Ferris Trophy. Best performing crew of the series as judged by the handicapper.
- 16.4 James Frecheville Perpetual Trophy. Best aggregate one design score of the Winter and Summer CYAA series.
- 16.5 Eric Haydon Trophy. Best aggregate handicap score of the State Titles series.
- 16.6 Doug Jenkin Consistency Trophy
- 16.7 Additional prizes may be awarded at the discretion of the race committee.

17. PRESENTATION OF PRIZES

Prize presentations will be made at the end of regatta function to be held at Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron as soon as possible after the completion of racing on Sunday 2nd April 2023.

18. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Competitors participate in the regatta entirely at their own risk. See RRS 3, Decision to Race. The organising authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during or after the regatta.

19. INSURANCE

Each participating boat shall be insured with valid third-party liability insurance with a minimum cover of AUD 10 Million per incident of equivalent.

CONTACTS

Ann Rogers RMYS Boating Administrator 9534 0227 racing@rmys.com.au Peter Costolloe – CYAA Racing Director 0419171011 peter.costolloe@gmail.com